Explore
Communities in English
Advertise on Engormix

Broiler feed formulas in Malawi, Central Africa

Published: November 5, 2015
By: John Steendam
I'm involved with an orphanage school which provides free school teaching to orphans and vulnerable children.. Our school is located near Blantyre on a 5.25 hectare piece of land. As part of gaining some sustainability, we grow vegetables, goats and chickens. Due to the fact that the cost of broiler feed is very expensive, we have been given a formula of ingredients to prepare our own broiler chicken feed. This consists of a starter, grower and finisher. However, where previously we bought the feed commercially, we now find that the day old chicks are not growing very well at all. My plea is now if their is someone who can provide some help in giving us a successful feed formula? Thanks John
Authors:
John Steendam
Recommend
Comment
Jacob Mwale
10 de enero de 2019

My name is Jacob Mwale, a teacher by profession. I have a passion to start chicken production, especially broilers. When I started finding out about the cost of production, I found out that feeds for broilers are very expensive. I, therefore, would like to request the formula for starters, growers and finishers.

Recommend
Mzondi Moyo
4 de mayo de 2019
Yes we need to be doing some of these at house level if we are to achieve economic empowerment
Recommend
Chifundo m'bawa
15 de mayo de 2019

I want to know how can I make my own poultry feeds because feeds in shops are expensive.

Recommend
Cecilia dube hasha
13 de junio de 2019
I would like to know more about how to make chicken feed home made
Recommend
Hastings Wauka Mwale
22 de junio de 2019

How can we make Broiler starter feed formula using maize, sorghum, soya beans, dried fish cowpeas?

Recommend
Lyna Nyanga
16 de julio de 2019
I want help on how to make broiler feeds locally.
Recommend
Laston kambalame
29 de septiembre de 2019
I would like to know how to make my own broiler feeds
Recommend
Rhoda Sinyo