Explore
Communities in English
Advertise on Engormix

swine dysentery

Swine Dysentery Too Costly to Live With

Published: November 28, 2012
Summary
Swine Dysentery (SD), commonly known as bloody scours, is a troublesome disease which had been virtually eliminated through scientific breakthroughs in the 1970s and 1980s. But today, likely due to changes in production practices, it has begun to re-emerge and again cause disease and death in hogs. SD is too costly a disease to live with. When an infection is suspected, it is important to get a...
Related topics
Authors:
Dr. Hank Harris
Iowa State University
Recommend
Comment
Amstadt Csaba
14 de enero de 2013

Dear Mr Harris,

I really enjoyed reading your article, it is a well established owerview regarding the SD.
I am a simple agricultural engineer busy with feed additive business for 15 years gaining some experience in product development and sales of feed ads at some prestigious industry leaders cc Delacon, Biomin, Provimi Group currently overtaken by Cargill Purina in different positions, etc. One of my feed additive development was against this disease you wrote the article about. My way of preventing and covering this disease based on a simple fact from the strenghtening effect of natural feed additives. My base point regarding kind of diseases the bottom line I think starts with the triangle of harmony of energy, protein and fiber ratio for different ages of pigs and the health of the GI tract.. By fullfilling these issues beside of proper treatment of the feed cc salmonella, E coli count etc lowering and or elimination of heat treatments, acidifying etc beside a proper sanitary program, cc rodent and pest control I think you can do a lot against the outbreak of these disease, Cause pig producers are people who like comfort normally they use their own treatment and prevention programs adapted to their circumstances and try to control and eliminate this disease by thre pressure of applying drugs, if they got the