Explore
Communities in English
Advertise on Engormix

pig production in botswana

Starting up a pig farm

Published: May 10, 2006
By: FRED KAU

I'm a third year student in the University of Botswana studying economics and accounts. My country is well known for its diamond and beef production. Pork meat is in high demand here, but the supply is very low, therefore I would like to venture in that industry. I want to start up a commercial pig farm but I haven’t the slightest idea of where to start. The start up capital is not a problem, the problem is the logistics. I know everything there is to know about cows, but when it comes to pigs I know nothing except for what I have learnt from this website. What I want to know is if I want to start up a high production commercial pig farm, how many females and boars should I start with? What breed is the best, looking at my demographic location? How many sheds should be constructed to accommodate the pigs and how many pigs should I keep per shed? Any response will be highly appreciated.

Related topics
Join to be able to comment.
Once you join Engormix, you will be able to participate in all content and forums.
* Required information
Would you like to discuss another topic? Create a new post to engage with experts in the community.
Create a post
Chucks Ihearahu
18 de junio de 2012

I have a 10 acres of farm land and this discussion is making me to start planning of pig farm in Nigeria but lack of information is a serious hamper to the take off of this project. I am having a problem with finding pig ark or how the design of ark to kept the pig. What do you think?Chucks UK

Noni
11 de septiembre de 2012