Explore
Communities in English
Advertise on Engormix

Porcine Reproductive & Respiratory Syndrome

Forum: Porcine Reproductive & Respiratory Syndrome (PRRS)

Published: July 11, 2011
By: Ellis

I am a small pig farmer in Thailand (80 sow / 8 boars / 60 gilt farm). Our farm primarily is in the business of raising piglets for sale at 35 days as market finishing pigs - we only raise finish pigs from piglets that do not reach our standards for sale to the public. We also raise gilts and sell sperm.

In Thailand, and all bordering countries, there is currently a large problem with PRRS. We, piglet sellers, were first restricted to selling piglets only within Thailand (no live pigs can be exported). Then several weeks ago we were limited to shipping within our own province. Now we are even limited to a few locations within our Province. It is a scary time as many pig farms around us are being destroyed by PRRS.

Efforts to keep the disease off of our farm are: We are totally a closed farm and no one from outside our staff is allowed on the farm. Secondly even our staff is required to change clothes prior to entry onto the farm. Thirdly we spray the entire area several times daily in attempt to kill any air-born disease from reaching us. Fourth, we deliver piglets and then spray our truck on return – the truck is kept away from the farm and piglets are taken out to the truck for loading. Lastly we deliver sperm orders to a location about 1km away from the farm.

We have inquired at our local livestock government office about inoculation of the entire pig population but they recommend against it. They say there are too many different strains of PRRS for inoculation to be effective.
My direct question is what else can we do? (Yes - my wife prays to her Buddha ancestors and I pray to my Christian God for help but we know we are the ones that need to take action). There is no insurance available to help if our pigs are all lost!

Thanks, Randall

Related topics
Authors: