Explore
Communities in English
Advertise on Engormix

Milk Supplementation to Suckling Piglets

Forum: Milk Supplementation to Suckling Piglets

Published: August 26, 2010
By: Erik Laeremans

Gaining popularity in Western Europe, but apparantly already used for many years in the U.S. is the use of automated systems for milk supplementation to suckling piglets in the farrowing room.
I would like to know from people who are using this kind of system what their experiences are. How much milk do the piglets consume, at what cost, etcetera.
Are you not using this kind of system? Then i would like to know what you think about milk supplementation.
Thank you in advance!

Related topics:
Authors:
Erik Laeremans
Recommend
Comment
Randall Ellis
15 de septiembre de 2010
I would like to know the same information (I am a pig farmer in Thailand)
Recommend
Edwin Grim
Ralco Nutrition
16 de septiembre de 2010
The Birthright milk and the system is available in Europe. In the Netherlands the system is disatributed and installed by Weda. van Asten in Helmond and Bennie Baak in Eibergen have started to use and test the milk. We have observed 1 kg incremental weight at weaning and significant less use of antibiotics. What else would you like to learn?
Recommend
Erik Laeremans
17 de septiembre de 2010

What else I would like to learn?
Simple, and just like a asked before. Practical experiences, not only technical results, but also the economics of the system. What does it really cost to use this system? How much milk does the piglets consume to reach the extra kilogram of weaning weight?
How does the Ralco system works? I cannot find any information of the system on the website of Weda or Ralco Nutrition. Where can I find more information?
Thank you.

Recommend
Rhea Figarola
17 de septiembre de 2010